By: Weekend Post  11-11-2011

Following rigorous adjudication by the judging panel, Vodacom this week named its regional winners, who will officially receive their prizes at a breakfast in Port Elizabeth on Monday, October 3, at the Protea Hotel Marine.

The winners will now go on to attend the national awards ceremony in Johannesburg on November 4.

Countrywide, 1224 entries were submitted by journalists for the tenth annual awards this year, a 33% increase in entries from last year. The Eastern region had the most entries in the print feature category (43), closely followed by the print general news category (38). Columnists’ entries were also high (30).

“From the feature stories to the exposés, this year’s entries reflect the changing fabric of South African society and the range of social challenges we have to confront as a society – from rape, forced removals, sport amenities to healthcare,” said Vodacom’s Portia Maurice, chief officer: corporate affairs.

The full list of winners in the Eastern region are:

2011 Columnist winner

Piet Naude, The Herald, Meetings a waste of time

2011 Community Media winner

Lynn Erasmus, Your Money Publishing, Your Money, Entrepreneur of the month

2011 Consumer Journalism winner

Gillian McAinsh, Avusa, The Herald, Fair & Square: Squeaky couches dilemma

2011 Financial/Economic winner

Lee-Anne Butler, Avusa, The Herald, More support needed for IDZs

2011 Online journalism winners

Brian Hayward, Avusa, The Herald, Nelson Mandela Bay’s crumbling state healthcare

Eugene Coetzee, Avusa, The Herald, Nelson Mandela Bay’s crumbling state healthcare

Estelle Ellis, Avusa, The Herald, Nelson Mandela Bay’s crumbling state healthcare

Khanyi Ndabeni, Avusa, The Herald, Nelson Mandela Bay’s crumbling state healthcare

2011 Photography winner

Mlondolozi Mbolo, Avusa, Daily Dispatch, Xhosa rite

2011 Print: Feature winners

Michael Kimberly, Avusa, Daily Dispatch, I am Eastern Cape

Sabelo Skiti, Avusa, Daily Dispatch, I am Eastern Cape

Mayibongwe Maqhina, Avusa, Daily Dispatch, I am Eastern Cape

2011 Print: General News winner

Bongani Fezile, Avusa, Daily Dispatch, Bhungeni Informal Settlement forced removals

2011 Radio: Feature winner

Unathi Binqose, SABC, SAFM, Imfundo

2011 Radio: General News winner

Nkululeko Nyembezi, SABC News, Rape

2011 Sport winner

Alvin Reeves, Avusa, The Herald, Lack of cricket facilities in PE township

2011 Television: Feature winners

Nontsikelelo Nohiya, SABC, Cutting Edge, Long walk to education

Keith Sayster, SABC, Fokus, Mud Schools

Malusi Ntanzi, SABC, Fokus, Mud Schools

2011 Television: General News winner

Neil Raath, eNews Channel, Circumcision

2011 Editors Choice winner

Yolande Stander, Avusa, Weekend Post

2011 Cartoonist winner

Cuan Miles, Avusa, Daily Dispatch, Causing a stink

Other products and services from Weekend Post



This weekend’s competition, entries for which close at noon on Tuesday, is for three Crystal Combination rings – one of Jenni’s most exciting signature ranges – plus a R200 voucher for the first-place winner, valued at a total of R1850.



Adding to the furore around Moodaley’s nomination are accusations that some members of the new board are former members of a board put under administration by the then national cricket body, the United Cricket Board of South Africa, for maladministration in the early 2000s.